Family Day Care for 9 or More Children

Use and Occupancy Permit

Family Day Care provides an important source of daytime child-care services for families in Prince George's County. Many of these environments are educationally stimulating and fun. A Family Day Care Use and Occupancy Permit ensures that a residential property meets the International Residential Building Codes and local fire, zoning and building regulations that are designed to maximize safety and fire egress, when needed.

Application and Supporting Documents

Permit Applications must be entered online.

​Who Can Apply
  • Owner: Property Owner name must match Maryland State Assessment records, or Proof of Ownership must be submitted. Proof of Ownership: Deed and Deed Recording Receipt from Clerk of the Circuit Court for Prince George's County.
  • ​Agent: Applicants that are not the property owner must submit document showing Owner's permission to apply for permit:
  • ​Contractor: Maryland State Licensed Architect/Engineer
    If an Automated Sprinkler System, Electrical or Mechanical permits are needed, see below "NOTES" section.

Plans and Drawings Requirements


Processing and Reviewing Agencies

Bring 3 copies of the entered online application, necessary support documents, and required plans and drawings to the Permit Center.
ePlan can not be used for Family Day Care for 9 or more Children - Use and Occupancy permits.
DPIE Fee: $150
Fee Calculation (if higher than Minimum): $50 + Construction Cost x 0.008 + $85 (M-NCPPC). All permitting fees are assessed an additional five percent (5%) Technology Fee. Fees are subject to change based on County codes.     


Following agencies' approval of plans/drawings and payment of fees, a permit is issued. A permit may be revoked if issued in error. A permit may be void if construction has not started, has been suspended or discontinued.
Modifications to the permit, plans or drawing require a Permit Revision. Permit Revision applications cannot be entered online. The revised application, plans and drawings must be submitted in the Permits Center, using the following two forms:
If approved, permits that expire or require more time to complete, may be renewed or extended by using the following form.

Following approval by the Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, an inspection may be requested and conducted. An inspection must be requested and conducted at least once every six months to avoid the permit being "abandoned." 
Certificate of Occupancy
Following approval by the Fire Marshal and the Zoning/Building inspectors, a Certificate of Occupancy will be issued. The Certificate of Occupancy is mailed to the Property Owner.
Copies ($5 each) of the Certificate of Occupancy are available by submitting a Maryland Public Information Act (MPIA) request form.
A change in the use, name or owner requires filing a new Use and Occupancy Permit.