Climate Action Commission

The Prince George’s Climate Action Commission shall be composed of 16 members:

  • Director of the Department of the Environment (DoE) to serve as Chair of the Commission;

Commission Chair: Dawn Hawkins-Nixon, Associate Director, Prince George’s Department of the Environment

  • Member of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (MWCOG) appointed by the MWCOG’s Board of Directors;

Commissioner: Kanti Srikanth, Deputy Executive Director, MWCOG


  • One (1) County Council member appointed by the Chair of the Council;

Commissioner: Council Member Tom Dernoga, County Council Member-District 1


  • Director or designee of the Department of Permitting, Inspections, and Enforcement (DPIE);

Commissioner: Reynaldo De Guzman, Chief Engineer, Prince George's County Department of Permitting, Inspection, and Enforcement


  • Director or designee of the Office of Central Services (OCS);

Commissioner: Erica S. Bannerman, REP Manager, Sustainable Energy, Prince George’s County Office of Central Services


  • Director or designee of the Department of Public Works and Transportation (DPW&T);

Commissioner: Elizabeth Miller, Chief Engineer Services, Prince George’s Department of Public Works & Transportation

Commissioner Alternate: Terry Bellamy, Director, Prince George’s Department of Public Works & Transportation.


Commissioner Alternate:  Andrea Lasker, Office of the Director,  Special Assistant for Policy and Program Development, Prince George’s Department of Public Works & Transportation


  • County Health Officer or their designee; 

Commissioner: Evelyn Hoban, Associate Director, HLT – Prince George’s County Health Department

Commissioner Alternate: Dr. Ernest Carter, MD, Ph.D.,  Health Officer, Prince George's County Health Department


  • Representative from Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission(M-NCPPC); 

Commissioner: Kim Finch, Environmental Planning Section, Countywide Planning, Master Planner, Maryland National Capital Park and Planning Commission (M-NCPPC)


  • Representative designated by the Chief Executive Officer of Prince George’s County Public Schools;

Commissioner: Donald Belle, Environmental Outreach Educator- William S. Schmidt Center, Prince George’s County Public Schools


  • Representative designated by the Prince George's County Municipal Association;

Commissioner: Mayor Collin A. Byrd, City of Greenbelt

Commissioner Alternate: Mayor Bennard J. Cann; Mayor, Town of Morningside; President, Prince George's County Municipal Association


  • Representative of the business community affiliated with energy production or transmission designated by the Prince George’s Chamber of Commerce;

Commissioner: Will Ellis, Director of External Affairs at Pepco

Commissioner Alternate: Brian Smith, Washington Gas, State Government Relations and Public Policy Manager  


  • Representative of the University of Maryland designated by the President of the University:

Commissioner: Scott Lupin, Director, Office of Sustainability, University of Maryland


  • Representative of Bowie State University designated by the President of the University; 

Commissioner: Dr. Alan J. Anderson, Ph. D, Chair of the Department of Natural Sciences and Associate Professor of Chemistry, Bowie State University


  • Three (3) representatives affiliated with non-profit environmental and/or social justice organizations in the County, designated by the Chair of the Council; 

Commissioner: Dr. Janet Gingold, MD, Prince George’s County Sierra Club, Citizen

Commissioner: Dr. Hank S. Cole, Ph.D., Henry S. Cole Environmental Associates, Citizen

Commissioner: Gary Allen, Maryland Forestry Foundation, Citizen