Intergovernmental Network (C-Net)


The Prince George's County Intergovernmental Network (referred to as C-Net) is a secure, reliable, and scalable fiber optic network connecting anchor institutions as partners in building successful communities and local economies. The C-Net provides a common framework for government, education, and public safety to leverage shared resources for information and data sharing and regional interoperability. The goal is to expand participation through collaboration ensuring long-term sustainability.



In the mid-1990s, Prince George’s County and participating municipalities entered into a Cable Franchise Agreement with Jones Communication of Maryland, Inc. In 1998 Comcast completed the acquisition of Jones Communications thus assuming responsibility for completing the requirements as defined in the Franchise Agreement with Jones Communications.

The original Comcast franchise agreement required the construction of a C-Net infrastructure and connectivity to 174 sites. Construction of the network began in the fourth quarter of 1999 and followed a fairly aggressive completion schedule. Within two years of the starting date, 25 percent of construction was completed. Full completion of the network occurred nearly three years later in 2002.*

The functional purpose of the network is to connect authorized users, including specific governmental, educational, and public facilities, in accordance with the Cable Franchise Agreement. Connectivity via the network offers participating governments a communication vehicle to reduce costs for services otherwise provided through commercially leased lines (e.g., Dial-Up, DSL (Digital Subscriber Line), ISDN (Integrated Services Digital Network), etc.).



The vision of the Prince George's County C-Net is to have all County municipalities as participating members. Measures toward this goal have been taken and municipalities not currently participating are encouraged to find out more about becoming a member by contacting the C-Net staff.


Participating Communities

In addition to Prince George's County, the current participating municipalities include:

  • City of Bowie
  • City of Capitol Heights**
  • City of College Park
  • City of District Heights
  • City of Glenarden
  • City of Greenbelt
  • City of Hyattsville**
  • City of Laurel
  • City of Mount Rainier
  • City of New Carrollton
  • City of Seat Pleasant**
  • Town of Berwyn Heights
  • Town of Bladensburg**
  • Town of Brentwood
  • Town of Cheverly**
  • Town of Colmar Manor
  • Town of Cottage City
  • Town of Edmonston
  • Town of Fairmount Heights**
  • Town of Forest Heights**
  • Town of Landover Hills
  • Town of Morningside**
  • Town of North Brentwood
  • Town of Riverdale Park**
  • Town of University Park
  • Town of Upper Marlboro

**Newly added Municipality within the new Comcast franchise agreement.


Annual Report

View the latest Annual Report.


More Information

Download the Connectivity Request Form.

For C-Net related issues, please contact the Service Desk at 301-883-5322 and reference your specific C-Net service.