No, reports are not written for all automobile accidents, and the police do not have to be called for all auto accidents. Under Maryland law accidents that involve non-disabling damage to the vehicles, and where there are no injuries, only require that the operators exchange insurance, driver's license, and auto registration information. The drivers of both vehicles then contact their personal insurance companies.
The Prince George's County Police does not have a "mailing list" to receive this information. Official Uniform Crime Reporting Statistics are compiled on a quarterly basis as the data becomes available. These are forwarded to the Maryland State Police, which is the central repository for this information. You can contact the Maryland State Police at 410-298-3883.
An accident reconstruction is completed for all fatal collisions investigated by the Prince George's County Police Department, and takes about six (6) weeks to complete. The fee for this report is $20.00. Payment is by money order or business check only.
Contact the Police Records Center Automated Request Line at (301) 985-3660. Copies of police reports can be obtained at a cost of $10.00 payable by business check or money order. No cash or personal checks are accepted. You can also mail requests with a self addressed, stamped envelope to the Police Records Center, 4923 43rd Avenue Hyattsville, Maryland 20781-2020. Please allow 2-4 weeks for the report to be delivered. Please provide names of persons involved, date, time, and the location of the incident. Also, if available, please provide the case number. Police reports cannot be obtained from the Police Records Center on a walk-in basis, only through the mail.
You must call the Police District Station that handles the area that you are interested in and ask to speak to someone in the Commander's Office. They will be able to provide you with Uniform Crime Reporting Statistics for the area in which you are interested. You can also ask to speak to a Community Oriented Policing Service (COPS) Officer who will be more familiar with the area. The COPS officer is supplied monthly with a listing of all calls for service. They are responsible for assisting you.
You can either telephone Communications at 301-352-1200, or call the Narcotics Enforcement Division at 301-883-6800. You can also call the District Station for the area in which the activity is occurring. Detailed information about the activities, the persons involved, vehicle descriptions (tag numbers, make, and model of car), hours when activity occurs, etc. will assist investigators. Results may not be seen immediately. Cases involving conspiracy or high level drug trafficking can be complicated and time consuming. Rest assured the department will work toward a resolution.
The program is called Community Oriented Policing Service (COPS), and it is a community based program that dedicates police officers to reducing crime and enhancing the quality of life in our neighborhoods. Contact the COPS program coordinator in the Community Services Division at 301-909-7126 for further information.
A vehicle release can be obtained at any Prince George's County Police Station. The information you will need is the title or registration for the vehicle, and a photo ID of yourself showing that you are the owner of the vehicle. If you are the owner of a vehicle involved in an accident, and are on the scene of the accident, with the proper identification (photo ID and the vehicle registration) you can obtain a vehicle release from the officer on the scene. If you are not the registered owner, you must present an original signed and notarized authorization from the owner granting you permission to obtain the release.
Calls are dispatched on a priority basis - from the most serious to the least serious. Due to manpower fluctuations of the volume of calls, there are times when all of the patrol officers in service are busy handling other calls.