Municipal SWPPP Inspection

The Municipal SWPPP Inspection Program is designed to assist Prince George’s County’s municipalities who own industrial facilities in meeting the mandates of the Maryland Department of Environment’s (MDE) permit entitled the “NPDES General Discharge Permit for Stormwater Discharges Associated with Industrial Activity”.

All holders of the NPDES “Industrial Permit” are required to develop and implement SWPPPs.


DoE has developed SWPPPs for the 8 municipalities in Prince George’s County. Through technical and inspection assistance, the Municipal SWPPP Inspection Program additionally supports municipal industrial facilities in reducing their environmental impact.

DoE compiles SWPPP implementation progress reports annually to send to MDE.

Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plan (SWPPP)

A SWPPP is a site specific descriptive document based on sound engineering practices that present the industrial risks which could contaminate stormwater, in addition to the State’s approved best management practices to reduce risks. A SWPPP is a plan that provides each industrial facility with the behavioral and structural guidelines necessary to reduce contaminants from entering the storm drains, conveyances, local streams and rivers.

Municipalities Included in the Municipal SWPPP Program

  • Cheverly
  • College Park
  • Greenbelt
  • Hyattsville
  • Laurel
  • New Carrolton
  • Riverdale Park
  • Seat Pleasant

Why Some Municipalities Are Not Included in this Program

The program includes municipalities under the following criteria:
  • Must have an NPDES Phase II General Permit, this permit is for all municipalities with populations greater than 1,000 and less than 100,000
  • Must own property that MDE regulates as industrial facilities
The City of Bowie maintains its own NPDES permits. Regulatory information is found on MDE’s website.