Information Sessions

Thank you for your interest in the Prince George's County Department of Social Services Foster Care/Adoption Program. The first step to become a foster care or adoptive parent in Prince George's County is to attend an Information Meeting at our offices located at:

Prince George’s County Department of Social Services
925 Brightseat Road
Landover, Maryland 20785
Phone: 301-909-2300
Meetings are held from 6:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. in Room 124

Registration is required, however, walk–ins are welcomed. To register call Lisa Robertson at 301-909-2300.

2013 Resource& Parent Information Meetings

SS_information_Sessions_11_13.png 

  • Monday, January 13, 2014
  • Monday, January 27, 2014
  • Monday, February 10, 2014
  • Monday, February 24, 2014
  • *Saturday, March 8, 2014 (10:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.)
  • Monday, March 31, 2014
  • Monday, April 14, 2014
  • Monday, April 28, 2014
  • Monday, May 12, 2014
  • Monday, May 19, 2014
  • Monday, June 9, 2014
  • Monday, June 30, 2014
  • Monday, July 14, 2014
  • Monday, July 28, 2014
  • *Saturday, August 16, 2014 (10:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.)
  • Monday, August 25, 2014
  • Monday, September 22, 2014
  • Monday, September 29, 2014
  • Monday, October 20, 2014
  • Monday, October 27, 2014
  • Monday, November 10, 2014
  • Monday, December 8, 2014

Information Sessions are held at 925 Brightseat Road in Landover on the main level in room 124.  Registration is preferred but NOT required.  We welcome all who are interested in loving a child in need.

*Saturday, March 8, 2014 and Saturday, August 16, 2014 meetings will be held at The South Bowie Library located at 15301 Hall Road, Bowie, Maryland 20721, 301-850-0475.

Note:  During inclement weather the Department of Social Services follows the Prince George’s County school systems schedule. If the schools are closed the information meeting for that date is automatically cancelled.

To get updated information during inclement weather on cancelled meetings call 301-909-2410.

Basic Requirements for becoming a foster care or adoptive parent

  • Be a resident of Prince George's County, Maryland
  • At least 21 years old
  • Single or married
  • May live in a house or apartment
  • Have working telephone service
  • All household members over 18 are willing to be fingerprinted and complete criminal back check
  • Be financially stable
  • Complete initial medical examination and bi-annual medical examination
  • Provide three (3) references regarding your parenting ability
  • Complete at least 27-hours of training
  • Complete a home safety inspection
  • Provide a child care plan
  • Refrain from physical or corporal punishment
County Click 311

Allows Users To:

  • Browse Through Questions And Answers In Various Categories
  • Enter Requests For Service
  • Track Status of Service Requests
Notify Me PGC