Council Bill 1-1972, established the Commission and mandated appointment of thirteen (13) Commissioners and an Executive Director to the Human Relations Commission.


The thirteen (13) Commissioners are appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by the County Council for three year terms.

Nichele Vaughan

Vice Chairperson
Merrill Smith ​Jr.
Nora Eidelman
Eric Jackson
Eugene Langbehn ​Gail Heath Gerald Folsom​ Walakewon Blegay​

An Executive Director is also appointed by the County Executive to be staff to the Commissioners and to assist them by investigating and processing cases to be heard for final determination via a public hearing, where evidence is gathered by a Hearing Panel and a decision made as to whether a violation of the applicable federal or county civil rights laws has occurred. The Commission may award damages, issue subpoenas and order injunctive relief.


Commissioners and the Executive Director also make appearances throughout the County to meet with residents, municipalities, companies and community groups to promote the agency and its services.​​​​​​​

County Click 311

Allows Users To:

  • Browse Through Questions And Answers In Various Categories
  • Enter Requests For Service
  • Track Status of Service Requests
Notify Me PGC