Mental Health Advisory Committee (MHAC)

The Mental Health Advisory Committee, comprised of persons appointed by the County Executive, gives suggestions to the Mental Health and Disabilities Division on services that are needed or need improvement in Prince George's County. The Committee volunteers to review and give recommendations on proposals for new services, the budget of the Mental Health and Disabilities Division and the Annual Plan. The Committee studies various issues that are barriers to good mental health care, and then gives recommendations on how to make positive changes.


To serve as an advocate for a comprehensive mental health system for persons of all ages, and to provide citizen oversight to all publicly funded mental health programs in Prince George’s County.

Committee Members

  • Charmian O. Crawford (Acting Chair)
  • Derek Ballard
  • Joseph Rollo
  • Gloria Brown
  • Martha Mihaly
  • Tomeka Bolden
  • Thomas J. Buckley
  • Edna D. Jervis
  • James E. Jones, Jr.
  • Cassandra Owens
  • Joan D. Young
  • Makeitha H. AbdulBarr

Committee Liaison

Eugenia Greenhood
Department of Family Services
Mental Health and Disabilities Division
6420 Allentown Road
Camp Springs, MD 20748
Phone: (301) 265-8400

The Committee meets monthly, on the third Tuesday of the month from 5:45 p.m. – 7:45 p.m. at:

Largo Government Center
9201 Basil Court
Largo, MD 20774

The committee meetings are open to the public.

If you are interested in becoming a committee member or learning more about the committee, please call:

Telephone 301-265-8400
MD Relay -711 

Related Links