Aging Advisory Committee

Advisory Committee on Aging members

The Prince George’s County Advisory Committee on Aging is comprised of 24 members appointed by the County Executive and confirmed by the County Council to advise them on issues related to aging. The members are citizen leaders representing the public and private community whose mission is to support and advocate the promotion of choice, independence and dignity for all older Prince Georgian’s and their families. The Advisory Committee on Aging has oversight of all aging programs including review of the Aging Area Plan to ensure that the goals and objectives are met and reflect the needs of seniors residing in Prince George’s County.

2015 Meetings/Event

January 28, 2015
8:00 AM

United Seniors of Maryland Forum

Miller Senate Office Building, 11 Bladen Street
President’s Conference Center, Main Floor West Wing,
Annapolis, MD 21401

February 26, 2015
9:30 AM

Meeting & Film Viewing

Fleeced: Speaking Out Against Senior Financial Abuse            Harriet Hunter Building, 6420 Allentown Road
Camp Springs, MD 20748

March 25, 2015
9:30 AM​


St. Paul Senior Living

1207 Addison Road, Capitol Heights, MD 20743          

​April 23, 2015
9:30 AM


Woodside Village, 6801 Bock Road, Fort Washington, MD 20744

​Older Americans Month Events - Date/Times to be determined

​June 25, 2015

​Strategic Planning Retreat

Billingsley House Museum
6900 Green Landing Road, Upper Marlboro, MD 20772

If you have questions, contact Joann Carnathan at 301–265–8478

Board Members

  • Christal Parker Batey – Chair
  • Patricia C. Fletcher – Vice Chair
  • Darilyn Marinelli – Secretary
  • Mary H. Budd – Assistant Secretary
  • Carolyn Butler
  • Jacqueline Byrd, Esquire
  • Albert Dickson
  • Elreta E. Edmonds
  • Ginny C. Lee
  • James R. Lyles Sr.
  • Oliver Lee Myers
  • Dorothy Powell–Allen
  • Betty S. Richardson
  • Byron Richardson, Esquire
  • Carolyn G. Tyson
  • Suzanne Van Nuys

Other Representation

  • Theresa M. Grant, Acting Executive Director, Department of Family Services
  • Karen Sylvester, Acting Division Manager, Aging Services Division
  • Cathy Stasny, Unit Manager, Department Family Services, Aging Services Division
  • Joann Carnathan, Unit Manager, Department Family Services, Aging Services Division