DPIE Organization

Structure and Staffing

The DPIE organization consists of five operating divisions and one administrative services division.  The operating divisions are arranged into two groups:  one focused on permitting, plan review and licensing, and the other on inspections and enforcement.
DPIE has a staff complement authorized at 280, with an additional 100 co-located staff coming from the Environmental Health Division of the Health Department, Office of Law, Fire Marshall’s Office, Maryland-National Park and Planning Commission (M-NCPPC), Prince George's Soil Conservation District (PGSCD), State Highway Administration (SHA) and Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission (WSSC).