Public Safety and Fiscal Management

Council Member Mel Franklin serves as chair of the Public Safety and Fiscal Management (PSFM) Committee and Council Member Obie Patterson serves as vice chair.

PSFM is responsible for reviewing 18 County agencies, and several issues and policies related to law enforcement, crime prevention and criminal justice, emergency preparedness, labor agreements, bond issues, budget and financial management, and cable television and telecommunications. Agency review responsibilities include the Office of Central Services; Circuit Court; Office of Community Relations; Department of Corrections; Office of Finance; Fire/EMS Department/Volunteer Fire; Office of Homeland Security; Office of Human Resources Management; Personnel Board; Office of Information Technology; Office of Law; Board of Ethics; Office of Management and Budget; Orphan’s Court; Police Department; Office of the Sheriff; Office of the State’s Attorney; and the Revenue Authority. 


PSFM ActionAgenda_04182016
PSFM ActionAgenda_04132016
PSFM ActionAgenda_04072016
PSFM ActionAgenda_03172016
PSFM ActionAgenda_03032016-1
PSFM ActionAgenda_02042016
1 - 15Next


  • Mel Franklin, Chair
  • Obie Patterson, Vice-Chair
  • Mary A. Lehman
  • Andrea C. Harrison
  • Todd M. Turner


Howard Stone Committee Director (301) 952-3695
Colette Gresham Legislative Officer (301) 952-5434
​Maurice Simpson
Administrative Aide (Interim) (301) 952-5261

Agency/Issue Review Responsibilities

  • Office of Central Services (OCS):
    • Industrial Development Authority (IDA)
    • Minority Business Development
  • Circuit Court
  • Office of Community Relations
  • Department of Corrections
  • Office of Finance
  • Fire/EMS Department/Volunteer Fire
  • Office of Homeland Security
  • Human Relations Commission​
  • Office of Human Resources Management (OHRM)
    • Personnel Board
  • Office of Information Technology (OIT)
  • Office of Law
    • Board of Ethics
  • Office of Management and Budget (OMB)
  • Orphan’s Court
  • Police Department
  • Office of the Sheriff
  • Office of State’s Attorney
  • Bond Issues
  • Budget Transfers and Supplemental Appropriations (Grants; General Funds)
  • Cable Television and Telecommunications (5A-101-5A-167)
  • Collective Bargaining Agreements (16-233)
  • Hotel/Motel Tax (10-218-10-225)
  • Labor Agreements (13A-101-116)
  • Municipal Tax Differential (10-183-186)
  • Personnel Law (16-101)
  • Pension Plans (16-230-232)
  • Property Tax Credit (10-241)
  • Revenue Authority (Parking Authority) (21A-101)
  • Revitalization Tax Credit (10-235)
  • Surplus Property (1-111.01)
  • Salary Plans & G Schedule (16-125)
  • Taxicabs and Limousines (20-145)
  • Others, if necessary​