For Immediate Release: 5/7/2014 2:00 PM

Contact: Angela J. Rouson 301-952-7484

Students Study Legislative Process
The Prince George’s County Council hosted 19 select Prince George’s County students from high schools across the County during “Student Shadow Day” on Tuesday, May 6, 2014.  The event was held in recognition of the annual celebration of county governments by the National Association of Counties, which has encouraged counties across the country to actively promote county government programs and services.
“Student Shadow Day” participants received commendations from their Council representatives during Tuesday’s Council session, and accompanied their respective Council Members throughout the legislative day to better understand the daily responsibilities of elected officials.
Prince George’s County Council Chair Mel Franklin (D) – District 9, says Council Members look forward to “Shadow Day” as an important mentoring opportunity for Prince George’s County students. 
“Each year we welcome some of our County’s best and brightest students to ‘shadow’ their Council Member and they never disappoint, presenting thoughtful questions and demonstrating keen insight.  Many of the students with us today are already leaders in the classroom and the community, and have expressed an interest in public service.  We want them to be firsthand witnesses to how local government works behind the scenes.” 
The following is a list of participating students, including their schools and Council Districts:
District 1
Alexis Ojeda - Laurel High
Daniel Diasgrandados - High Point High
District 2
Amuche Nwafor - Northwestern High
Kyle Najarian - DeMatha High
District 3
Jisella Urquilla - Parkdale High
District 4
Tracy Oghenetega Okoroh - Eleanor Roosevelt High
Justina Esuola - DuVal High
Jeremiah Hughes - Bowie
District 5
Stacy Villibord - Bladensburg High
Lyric Moodie - Charles Flowers High School
District 6
Nikeyah Valentine - Tall Oaks High
Mia Smith - Central High
Jeffery Taylor - Dr. Henry A. Wise, Jr. High
Hamidah Famuditimi - Largo High
District 7
Charles Butler - Suitland High
District 8
Dion M. Engadahi - Friendly High
District 9
Chinew Nwokoro - Frederick Douglass High
Alexis Wilkerson - Friendly High
Atiba McGil l- Surrattsville High
All legislative powers of Prince George’s County are vested in the County Council.  The County Council sits as the District Council on zoning and land use policy, and as the Board of Health to govern and guide health policy.  The County Council meets as a legislative body on Tuesdays in the Council Hearing Room on the first floor of the County Administration Building in Upper Marlboro.  For more information on the Prince George’s County Council, please visit