For Immediate Release: 12/3/2013 12:00 AM

Contact: Angela Rouson 301.952.7484

Council Chair Mel Franklin and Vice-Chair Will Campos Preside over First Session of Legislative Year 2014

The Prince George’s County Council unanimously elected Council Member Mel Franklin (D) – District 9, to serve as Chair for Legislative Year 2014. Council Member Will Campos (D) – District 2, was elected to serve as Vice-Chair. The newly-elected Council Leadership team presided over the first session of Legislative Year 2014 on Tuesday, December 3, 2013.

Accepting the Gavel of Leadership, Chair Franklin praised the work of his Council colleagues and addressed the agenda for Legislative Year 2014.

“I applaud the hard work of all of my colleagues on the Council, each bringing diverse strengths and talents to the extraordinary task of advocating for the interests of the residents we are privileged to serve” adding, “Even in the midst of our slow economic recovery from the national housing crisis, we are in the process of working to transform Prince George’s County into a destination for the world. Our talented and resilient residents want to work and invest in their own County and draw others to do the same, but transforming into a destination for the world will not happen by accident or coincidence. We must take big steps, on purpose, to make this transformation happen for the County we cherish and love“

Chair Franklin also praised newly-elected Council Vice-Chair Will Campos for his work on behalf of the citizens of Prince George’s County, and recognized his historic election as the first Latino to serve in Council leadership.

“I am very pleased that Council Member Campos has accepted the challenge to lead this Council as its Vice-Chair for Legislative Year 2014. Council Member Campos brings broad intellect and unique insights into the issues that confront this Council and our County. He is also blazing a trail of history today as the first Latino to serve in this Council’s Leadership. Congratulations Vice-Chair Campos on this accomplishment and I look forward to working in tandem with you and our colleagues to make 2014 a year of accomplishment like no other.”

Council Chair Franklin, a resident of Upper Marlborowas elected to his first four-year term on the Prince George’s County Council in the 2010 General Election. Herepresents the Ninth Council District, which includes the southern third of the County’s land mass and most of the County’s Rural Tier. Council Vice Chair Campos of Hyattsville, was elected to serve his first term on the Prince George’s County Council in 2006, after serving the remaining two years of a four-year term vacated by his predecessor.

Please visit for on-demand video of the Gavel Exchange Ceremony, or to access Gavel Exchange photographs and speeches. The Gavel Exchange Ceremony will also be cablecast on Prince George’s Community Television (CTV), channel 42 (Verizon FIOS) and channel 76, (Comcast). For air dates and times, please visit or contact CTV at 301.773.0900.


All legislative powers of Prince George’s County are vested in the County Council. The County Council sits as the District Council on zoning and land use policy, and as the Board of Health to govern and guide health policy. The County Council meets as a legislative body on Tuesdays in the Council Hearing Room on the first floor of the County Administration Building in Upper Marlboro. For more information on the Prince George’s County Council, please visit