All legislative powers of the County are vested in the County Council. In addition, the County Council sits as the District Council on zoning and land use matters, and as the Board of Health on health policy matters. The County Council meets as a legislative body at 10:00 a.m. every Tuesday in the Council Hearing Room on the main floor of the County Administration Building in Upper Marlboro. The District Council meets at 10:00 a.m. on second and fourth Mondays. The Board of Health meets as required. The Council recesses in August and December.​

All County Council sessions are open to the public, and citizens are encouraged to attend.

Andrea Harrison, Chair, District 5
Mel Franklin
District 9 
Obie Patterson, Vice Chair, District 8
Will Campos
Vice Chair
District 2
Mary A. Lehman, District 1
Mary A. Lehman
District 1
Will Campos, District 2
Eric Olson
District 3

Eric Olson, District 3
Ingrid M. Turner
District 4
Derrick Leon Davis, District 6
Derrick Leon Davis

Karen R. Toles, District 7
Karen R. Toles
District 7

​​Mel Franklin, District 9
Obie Patterson
District 8